Bad Astronaut

Bad Astronaut is the indie-rock side project of Joey Cape, lead singer and songwriter for the flagship Fat Wreck Chords band Lagwagon and 1/5 of the all-star punk cover band Me First and the Gimme Gimmes; and Marko DeSantis, lead guitarist of modern power-pop band Sugarcult.

Formed in their hometown of Santa Barbara, CA in 2000, this 6-piece band released three full length records: Acrophobe, Houston: We Have a Drinking Problem, and Twelve Small Steps, One Giant Disappointment between 2001-2006.

After disbanding in 2005 following the tragic death of drummer Derrick Plourde (ex-drummer/founding member of Lagwagon); Bad Astronaut temporarily resumed operations one year later in order to complete & release their previously abandoned & unfinished third album, mostly as a memorial in Derrick Plourde’s honor.

Originally conceived as an experimental studio-only side project, Bad Astronaut never intended to perform live. However, in 2010, approximately 5 years after Plourde’s passing & 10 years after the band’s inception, Bad Astronaut decided to play live for the first time. They regrouped to play a handful of shows in Southern California. In 2011 they toured again, this time in Canada. The recent Australian run (in November 2013) was only the band’s third tour ever and was their first time playing outside of North America!

Bad Astronaut is rounded out by its original line-up: Joey Cape (vocals/guitar); Marko DeSantis (bass guitar); Orange Whip Studio owner/producer Angus Cooke (cello/vocals); producer/engineer Thom Flowers (guitar); producer/film score composer Todd Capps (keys/vocals), with Santa Barbara native (and old friend of Derrick Plourde) Erik Herzog (also of the doom metal act, Moab) joining on drums.